The Greek Orthodox

Cathedral of the Annunciation

24W Preston St, Baltimore, MD 21201


Upcoming Events

    • Sunday, September 01, 2019
    • Sunday, June 07, 2020
    • 39 sessions
    • Cathedral


    • Sunday, September 01, 2019
    • Sunday, June 07, 2020
    • 39 sessions
    • Cathedral


    • Friday, September 06, 2019
    • Friday, May 22, 2020
    • 32 sessions
    • Cathedral Classroom Building


    • Sunday, November 10, 2019
    • Sunday, June 28, 2020
    • 28 sessions
    • AHEPA and Youth Room


    • Monday, March 09, 2020
    • Monday, April 06, 2020
    • 4 sessions
    • Chapel of Holy Wisdom


    • Sunday, March 29, 2020
    • Sunday, April 05, 2020
    • 2 sessions
    • Chapel of Holy Wisdom


    • Saturday, April 11, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 10:30 AM
    • Cathedral


    • Saturday, April 11, 2020
    • 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM


    • Saturday, April 11, 2020
    • 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM


    • Sunday, April 12, 2020
    • Wednesday, April 15, 2020
    • 4 sessions
    • Cathedral


    • Monday, April 13, 2020
    • Saturday, April 18, 2020

    • Monday, April 13, 2020
    • Wednesday, April 15, 2020
    • 3 sessions
    • Chapel of Holy Wisdom


    • Wednesday, April 15, 2020
    • 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM
    • Cathedral


    • Thursday, April 16, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 10:30 AM
    • Cathedral


    • Thursday, April 16, 2020
    • 6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
    • Cathedral


    • Friday, April 17, 2020
    • 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
    • Cathedral


    • Friday, April 17, 2020
    • 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM
    • Cathedral


    • Friday, April 17, 2020
    • 6:30 PM - 8:30 PM
    • Cathedral


    • Saturday, April 18, 2020
    • 12:00 AM
    • Sunday, April 19, 2020
    • 12:45 AM
    • Courtyard

    On the Great and Holy Feast of Pascha, Orthodox Christians celebrate the life-giving Resurrection of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. This feast of feasts is the most significant day in the life of the Church. It is a celebration of the defeat of death, as neither death itself nor the power of the grave could hold our Savior captive. In this victory that came through the Cross, Christ broke the bondage of sin, and through faith offers us restoration, transformation, and eternal life.

    More information: https://www.goarch.org/pascha

    • Saturday, April 18, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 9:30 AM
    • Cathedral


    • Saturday, April 18, 2020
    • 10:30 PM - 11:30 PM
    • Cathedral

    On the Great and Holy Feast of Pascha, Orthodox Christians celebrate the life-giving Resurrection of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. This feast of feasts is the most significant day in the life of the Church. It is a celebration of the defeat of death, as neither death itself nor the power of the grave could hold our Savior captive. In this victory that came through the Cross, Christ broke the bondage of sin, and through faith offers us restoration, transformation, and eternal life.

    More information: https://www.goarch.org/pascha

    • Sunday, April 19, 2020

    • Sunday, April 19, 2020
    • 12:45 AM - 2:30 AM
    • Cathedral

    On the Great and Holy Feast of Pascha, Orthodox Christians celebrate the life-giving Resurrection of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. This feast of feasts is the most significant day in the life of the Church. It is a celebration of the defeat of death, as neither death itself nor the power of the grave could hold our Savior captive. In this victory that came through the Cross, Christ broke the bondage of sin, and through faith offers us restoration, transformation, and eternal life.

    More information: https://www.goarch.org/pascha

    • Sunday, April 19, 2020
    • 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    • Cathedral


    • Thursday, April 23, 2020
    • 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM
    • Cemetary Chapel

    George, this truly great and glorious Martyr of Christ, was born of a father from Cappadocia and a mother from Palestine. Being a military tribune, or chiliarch (that is, a commander of a thousand troops), he was illustrious in battle and highly honoured for his courage. When he learned that the Emperor Diocletian was preparing a persecution of the Christians, Saint George presented himself publicly before the Emperor and denounced him. When threats and promises could not move him from his steadfast confession, he was put to unheard-of tortures, which he endured with great bravery, overcoming them by his faith and love towards Christ. By the wondrous signs that took place in his contest, he guided many to the knowledge of the truth, including Queen Alexandra, wife of Diocletian, and was finally beheaded in 296 in Nicomedia.

    His sacred remains were taken by his servant from Nicomedia to Palestine, to a town called Lydda, the homeland of his mother, and then were finally transferred to the church which was raised up in his name. (The translation of the Saint's holy relics to the church in Lydda is commemorated on November 3; Saint Alexandra the Queen, on April 21.)

    • Friday, April 24, 2020
    • 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM
    • Chapel of Holy Wisdom

    Outside of Constantinople, towards the district of the Seven Towers, there was in ancient times a very large and most beautiful church named in honour of the Theotokos; it had been built about the middle of the fifth century by the Emperor Leo the Great (also called "Leo of Thrace," he is commemorated on Jan. 20). Before he became Emperor, he had encountered there a blind man, who being tormented with thirst asked him to help him find water. Leo felt compassion for him and went in search of a source of water but found none. As he became downcast, he heard a voice telling him there was water nearby. He looked again, and found none. Then he heard the voice again, this time calling him "Emperor" and telling him that he would find muddy water in the densely wooded place nearby; he was to take some water and anoint the blind man's eyes with it. When he had done this, the blind man received his sight. After Leo became Emperor as the most holy Theotokos had prophesied, he raised up a church over the spring, whose waters worked many healings and cured maladies by the grace of the Theotokos; from this, it came to be called the "Life-giving Spring." The Church of Christ celebrates the consecration of this church on this day.

    After the fall of the imperial city, this church was razed to the ground and the materials from it were used for building the mosque of Sultan Bayezid. Nothing remained of that church's ancient beauty, except for a small and paltry chapel, almost completely buried in the ruins. This chapel had twenty-five steps going down into it, and a transom window on the roof, wherefrom it received a little light. Toward the western side of the chapel was the aforementioned holy Spring, fenced about with a railing, and with fish swimming in it. Such was the condition of the Spring until 1821. Then even that little remnant was destroyed, occasioned by the uprising of the Greek nation against the Ottoman Empire; the sacred Spring was buried with it and disappeared altogether.

    But in the days of Sultan Mahmud, when those subject to him were rejoicing in their freedom to practice their religion, permission was sought by the Orthodox Christian community to rebuild at least part of the chapel. Thus the work was begun on July 26, 1833. When the excavation had been made, and the foundations of the ancient church were found, there was rebuilt -- by a later writ of permission from the Sultan -- not merely a chapel of the holy Spring, but another new church, constructed upon the foundations of the ancient one. The building of this spacious, beautiful, and most majestic temple began on September 14, 1833, and the work was completed on December 30, 1834. On February 2, 1835, the Ecumenical Patriarch Constantine II, serving the Liturgy together with twelve hierarchs and a great company of clergy, as well as a boundless multitude of Christians, performed the consecration of this sacred church and dedicated it to the glory of the Mother of God. On September 6, 1955, however, it was desecrated and destroyed again by the Moslem Turks; it has been restored again, but not to the former magnificence.

    • Saturday, April 25, 2020
    • 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM


    • Friday, May 08, 2020
    • 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM


    • Saturday, May 09, 2020
    • 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM


    • Sunday, May 10, 2020

    Today is the last day of Sunday School

    Today, we will complete the 2019/2020 school year with our students, teachers and volunteers.


Past Events

Wednesday, April 01, 2020 Compline w/ Great Canon
Sunday, March 29, 2020 Family Worship Sunday
Sunday, March 08, 2020 Vespers & Procession
Saturday, March 07, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Theodore Tyro and Kolyva Miracle
Friday, March 06, 2020 GOYA Meeting
Friday, March 06, 2020 Lenten Presentation
Friday, March 06, 2020 Salutations to the Mother of God
Friday, March 06, 2020 Presanctified Liturgy
Thursday, March 05, 2020 Choir Practice
Wednesday, March 04, 2020 Presanctified Liturgy
Monday, March 02, 2020 Sacrament of Unction
Sunday, March 01, 2020 Young Professionals Pizza Fellowship
Sunday, March 01, 2020 Forgiveness Vespers
Saturday, February 29, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Holy Ascetics
Friday, February 28, 2020 Taverna Night
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Photini
Sunday, February 23, 2020 Family Worship Sunday
Saturday, February 22, 2020 Loaves and Fishes
Saturday, February 22, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for Saturday of the Souls
Thursday, February 20, 2020 Men's Fellowship
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 OCF Hopkins Meeting
Monday, February 17, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Theodore the Recruit
Wednesday, February 12, 2020 OCF Loyola Meeting
Saturday, February 08, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Theodore the General
Friday, February 07, 2020 GOYA Meeting
Thursday, February 06, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Photios
Thursday, January 30, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Three Hierarchs
Sunday, January 26, 2020 Greek School Three Hierarchs Celebration
Sunday, January 26, 2020 Family Worship Sunday
Saturday, January 18, 2020 Loaves and Fishes
Monday, January 13, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for Martyrs of the Monastery of St. Theodosios
Tuesday, January 07, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. John the Baptist
Monday, January 06, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for Theophany
Friday, January 03, 2020 GOYA Meeting
Wednesday, January 01, 2020 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Circumcision of our Lord
Friday, December 27, 2019 Nicki Sharkey Memorial Glendi
Friday, December 27, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Stephen
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Nativity
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Orthros, Royal Hours, Great Vespers, and Divine Liturgy
Monday, December 23, 2019 Office Closed
Sunday, December 22, 2019 Candlelight Christmas Concert
Saturday, December 21, 2019 Young Professionals Dinner/Discussion
Saturday, December 21, 2019 Vespers
Friday, December 20, 2019 Greek School Christmas Program
Friday, December 20, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Ignatius
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Dionysios
Saturday, December 14, 2019 GOYA Caroling and Christmas Party
Saturday, December 14, 2019 Loaves and Fishes
Thursday, December 12, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Spyridon
Sunday, December 08, 2019 GOYA Gingerbread House Making
Friday, December 06, 2019 Greek School Koulourakia Baking
Friday, December 06, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy
Thursday, December 05, 2019 GOYA Boys Basketball Practice
Thursday, December 05, 2019 Vespers for St. Nicholas
Thursday, December 05, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Savas
Tuesday, December 03, 2019 Little Angels Meeting
Sunday, December 01, 2019 General Assembly
Saturday, November 30, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Apostle Andrew
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for Thanksgiving
Monday, November 25, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Catherine
Sunday, November 24, 2019 Family Worship Sunday
Saturday, November 23, 2019 Women's Bible Study
Thursday, November 21, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Presentation of the Theotokos into the Temple
Thursday, November 21, 2019 OCF Loyola Meeting
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 Vespers for the Presentation of the Theotokos into the Temple
Saturday, November 16, 2019 GOYA Dance
Saturday, November 16, 2019 Bible Study
Saturday, November 16, 2019 GOYA Basketball Tournament
Thursday, November 14, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Apostle Philip
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 OCF Hopkins Meeting
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. John Chrysostom
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Young Professionals Potluck
Saturday, November 09, 2019 Loaves and Fishes
Saturday, November 09, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Nektarios
Friday, November 08, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Synaxis of the Bodiless Powers
Sunday, November 03, 2019 Hope/Joy Meeting
Friday, November 01, 2019 GOYA Meeting
Monday, October 28, 2019 Annunciation Dines Out
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Fall Barnyard Fun
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Family Worship Sunday
Friday, October 25, 2019 Greek School Spaghetti Dinner
Friday, October 25, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Thabitha
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. James (Iakovos), brother of the Lord
Friday, October 18, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for St. Luke the Evangelist
Sunday, October 13, 2019 Greek Festival Breakdown
Thursday, October 10, 2019 Baltimore Greek Festival
Wednesday, October 09, 2019 Greek Festival Setup - Tent
Tuesday, October 08, 2019 Little Angels
Saturday, October 05, 2019 Greek Festival Setup
Friday, October 04, 2019 GOYA Meeting
Wednesday, October 02, 2019 Baklava Making
Monday, September 30, 2019 Baklava Making
Sunday, September 29, 2019 Axion Charity Events
Sunday, September 29, 2019 Cathedral Choir Concert Series
Saturday, September 28, 2019 Women's Bible Study
Thursday, September 26, 2019 GOYA Boys Basketball Practice
Thursday, September 26, 2019 Orthros and Divine Liturgy for the Falling Asleep of John the Theologian
Monday, September 23, 2019 GOYA Girls Basketball Practice
Monday, September 23, 2019 Byzantine Notation Chant Class
Monday, September 23, 2019 Festival Baking
Saturday, September 21, 2019 Orthodox Boot Camp
Thursday, September 19, 2019 Young Professionals Dinner Discussion
Monday, September 16, 2019 Intro to Byzantine Music Workshop
Monday, September 16, 2019 Little Angels Meeting
Monday, September 16, 2019 Festival Baking
Sunday, September 15, 2019 Sunday School Begins
Friday, September 13, 2019 Great Vespers for the Elevation of the Holy Cross
Friday, September 13, 2019 Greek School PTO Meet & Greet
Thursday, September 12, 2019 OCF Meeting
Saturday, September 07, 2019 Study of Galatians
Friday, September 06, 2019 Greek School Begins
Friday, August 23, 2019 Baltimore Orioles v. Tampa Bay Rays
Friday, August 23, 2019 Second-Hand Treasures
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Trip to Taylor, Pennsylvania
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Commissioning Prayer Service

Greek Orthodox Cathedral of the Annunciation

24W Preston St, Baltimore, MD
(410) 727-1831

Log in

Web design by Association Matters, Inc.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software